General Education

What do we do?

Berrien RESA’s General Education Department coordinates and supports the implementation of evidence-informed programs and services in schools throughout the county.  Relevant supports are identified and provided through collaboration and continuous improvement plans.  

The General Education Department supports a variety of areas, including literacy and mathematics instruction, faculty and staff professional development, state and federal programs and continuous improvement facilitation.

We are here for YOU!

  • Customized consultation and coaching
  • Curriculum development/alignment
  • Continuous improvement strategies
  • Assessment assistance
  • Multi-tiered systems of support integration
  • State and federal program guidance (English language support)
  • Evidence-based instructional practices

Why do we do it?

  • We believe students are our “why”.
  • We believe support of the whole child is vital to learning.
  • We believe equitable access to evidence-informed instruction is a right of each and every student.
  • We believe evidence-informed research drives best instructional practice.
  • We believe relationships impact culture, engagement and learning.
  • We believe trust and collaboration supports growth and builds strong practice.
  • We believe aligned and integrated systems support students, strengthen schools and help build entire communities where learning happens.

What has been the feedback?

Gen Ed Quotes

Contact Information

Tel:  269-471-7725 
Fax: 269-471-9731

Cyndi Ursprung  
Cyndi Ursprung
Director of General Education
Ext. 1343
cyndi.ursprung@berrienresa.org

Joe Elsheikhi
Joe Elsheikhi
Math Consultant
Ext. 1230
joe.elsheikhi@berrienresa.org

Sue Kruck
Sue Kruck
SCECH Coordinator / Secretary
Ext. 1116
sue.kruck@berrienresa.org

Amanda Lezotte
Amanda Lezotte
School Improvement Facilitator
Ext. 1256
amanda.lezotte@berrienresa.org

Chris Martin
Christina Martin
English Language Arts Consultant
Ext. 1109
chris.martin@berrienresa.org

Rebecca Miles
Rebecca Miles
Early Literacy Consultant
Ext. 1316
rebecca.miles@berrienresa.org

Kerry Mindeman
Kerry Mindeman
Early Literacy Consultant
Ext. 1138
kerry.mindeman@berrienresa.org

Lisa Pattison
Lisa Pattison
State / Federal Program Consultant
Ext. 1134
lisa.pattison@berrienresa.org

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2019 West Corporation. All rights reserved.